You are here

Understanding the United Nations System

 United Nations System Chart

Why is this important?

It is important for NGO’s working at the United Nations to understand the Organization and how it functions.

Some basic facts:

There are six major bodies of the United Nations established under the UN Charter: the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat. The United Nations family, however, is much larger, encompassing 15 agencies and several programmes and bodies. Please visit these websites to become familiar with the United Nations system.